Back in the day when I was a kid, not only was Pluto still a planet (RIP Pluto), when you said “7 wonders of the world” there were, in fact, only 7 and they were:

  • Great Pyramid of Giza
  • Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • Statue of Zeus at Olympia
  • Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
  • Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
  • Colossus of Rhodes
  • Lighthouse of Alexandria

Not to be outdone, more “7 wonders” lists have cropped up and the list from my childhood has been retitled “7 wonders of the ancient world.”

What a joke.

There’s a new 7 wonders of the world list released on July 7, 2007 (which I actually remember):

  • Taj Maal
  • Chichen Itza
  • Christ the Redeemer
  • Colosseum
  • Great Wall of China
  • Machu Picchu
  • Petra

And of course the 7 wonders of the natural world:

  • Grand Canyon
  • Great Barrier Reef
  • Harbor of Rio de Janeiro
  • Mount Everest
  • Aurora
  • Parícutin volcano
  • Victoria Falls

And the NEW 7 wonders of the natural world, because the old list was so pedestrian:

  • Iguazu Falls
  • Jeju Island
  • Komodo Island
  • Puerto Princesa Underground River
  • Table Mountain
  • Halong Bay
  • Amazon Rainforest

There are also 7 wonders of the industrial world, 7 wonders of the solar system, etc.

It all makes me feel so very sad for kids these days. And quite old. Nothing is sacred anymore! You can’t just have 7 wonders of the world and call it quits. Pshaw. None but the pyramids of Giza are left of the original 7 wonders…so lets just scrap the list and make a new one. No one remembers the Colossus of Rhodes anyway! (False. I remember the Colossus of Rhodes. Or at least the history of it.)

Some things should just be left as they are.



……oh man……did I just sound like a Gran?!